Cell Anatomy
Google DocsGoogle AppsPhotosharing ToolsMedia CovertersSKYPETeaching & Learning: ArticlePhotostoryPreziPrezi: How to Create a PresentationPrezi: TutorialsAnimoto: Creating a Video
Citation Tools
21st Century Education
Form 11 Research PaperSurvey of American LiteratureAP English Literature Research (Form 12)Arthur Miller
Using EBSCO Newspaper SourcesCreating RSS Feeds
AP World History: Tang Song EraAnimoto Review: Global StudiesForm 8: Native Americans
Apps Toolbox for Teachers
Flipped Learning
Research Form (Word)Research Form (PDF)Issues Day Research & Databases
GalleryInstallation DirectionsMix ExamplesTutorials
English MixEconomics
This is the "Databases" page of the "iLEARNING COMMONS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

iLEARNING COMMONS   Tags: reading, summer  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.smhall.org/learningcommons Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Databases A-Z

Database Login/Password Sheet (Click here to access all logins/passwords for SMH databases.)

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

American History Online

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

American Memory Photo Archive

Spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Animoto

Animoto provides an array of tools for creating videos in your classroom.

Art Project--Google

Google has created a unique collaborative project with some of the most acclaimed art museums in the world enabling art lovers to view more than a thousand artworks in high resolution detail. Gallery tours include 17 museums in the U.S. and Europe: the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, the National Gallery in London and the Uffizi Gallery in Florence, Italy.

ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research purposes.

Biography Reference Center

Book Drum

Book Drum’s remarkable range of interactive content is particularly valuable to students and teachers, with over twenty A-level/GCSE set texts already profiled, including Wuthering Heights, The Bell Jar, Frankenstein, Wide Sargasso Sea, and To Kill a Mockingbird.

Consumer Health Complete

CQ Researcher

In-depth reporting on a single topic in each weekly issue. Provides up-to-date information on social, political, economic, environmental and other controversial issues.

Discovery Education

(United Streaming) Discovery Education includes 9,000 full-length videos segmented into 71,000 content-specific clips for use in student and teacher projects.

DLESE

Digital Library for Earth System Education is a geoscience resource that supports learning about the Earth funded by the National Science Foundation.

EBSCO

A collection of full-text periodicals, biographies, primary source documents, essays, almanacs, newspapers, transcripts, photos, maps and more.

Ed Tech SMH Resources

Encyclopedia Britannica

Complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites reviewed and selected by Britannica editors.

Encyclopedia of Life

Intended as a tool for scientists, EOL is a fascinating resource for anyone interested in the living world. The EOL is being developed by a unique collaboration between scientists and the general public. Several thousand linking pages help users traverse the taxonomic hierarchy. EOL simply lists in one place all 1.8 million species known to science.

Explora

Explora Educator's Edition

Facts on File

Information in the areas of U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. FOF covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-6), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), and college/academic.

Fordham University History Primary Sourcebooks

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use. The sourcebooks cover Ancient History, Medieval & Renaissance HIstory, and Modern History.

Gale Group

A collection of curriculum-focused periodicals and reference databases. Includes professional resources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Getty Museum

Browse through more than 4,600 images from the Getty Museum available in high-resolution format on the Getty’s website for use without restriction. The images depict art objects including paintings, sculptures, photographs and various antiquities.

General OneFile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Graphic Organizers

Helps guide students through the problem-solving process. Designed for both individual and collaborative work, a unique interactive feature gives students item-specific feedback to encourage thesis development.

History Reference Center

offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text for 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.

InfoTrac Newsstand

Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.

Journal of Visualized Experiments

Peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in video format with emphasis in the following areas: General, Neuroscience, Immunology & Infection, Clinical & Translational, Medicine, Bioengineering, Applied Physics, and Chemistry.

JSTOR

JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

LexisNexis (Campus Access)

LexisNexis (Remote Access)

Newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and foreign language news sources. Includes legal research, U.S. Supreme Court cases, and the Congressional Record. Statistics from world-renowned statistical sources.

Life Photo Archive Through the Decades

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

Literary Reference Center

A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.

Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the scholarly materials of the Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's World, U.S., and English Authors Series.

MedicLatina

A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.

MEDLINEplus

The U.S. National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information.

National Geographic Digital Index

Get every page of every issue since 1888 in easy-to-use digital format.

Newspaper Source

Newseum

News Corporation News History offers the front pages of 836 newspapers throughout the world. The Newseum’s largest gallery — built around the museum’s collection of more than 30,000 historic newspapers — traces more than 500 years of news.

NoveList

NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, it features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Poetry and Short Story Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

ProCon.org

ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Their purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. Opinions are not expressed on their research projects ("issue websites"). Their mission statement is “Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."

Religion & Philosophy Collection

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. This database is updated daily.

Salud en Espanol (CHC Spanish Version)

San Antonio Public Library

San Antonio Public Library catalog and information.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Scitable

Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms.

Smithsonian 3-D Character Collection

The 3-D character collection features iconic, scientific, cultural, and historic objects.

SoundzAbound

SoundzAbound (Volumes 3 & 5) is a royalty-free music source available to students and staff members of SMH.

Spanish Reference Center

Enciclopedia Moderna is for high school ages and up and Enciclopedia Escolar for ages 6-12.
Enciclopedia Escolar provides a Spanish Elementary Encyclopedia, images, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish learning materials specifically designed for younger students. These resources are designed to help students sharpen their language skills while they learn new lessons.

Student Resources In Context

Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as "Search Assist" and quick fact boxes.

Teen Services @ San Antonio Public Library

Texas Reference Center

Trinity University--Coates Library

Access Trinity University's Coates Library online catalog. Government Documents can be searched in the Library Catalog as well as the main print collection.

UC Berkeley

United Streaming (See Discovery Education)

Visual Thesaurus

The Visual Thesaurus is an interactive dictionary and thesaurus which creates word maps that blossom with meanings and branch to related words.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip