This is the "SMH Library" page of the "Spanish Civil War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spanish Civil War  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2011 URL: http://libguides.smhall.org/spanishcivilwar Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

SMH Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Access the SMH Databases

You can access the Saint Mary's Hall Databases by:

-going to the SMH Home Page

-signing in to the Portal

-maximizing the 'SMH Libraries' heading

-choosing 'MS/US Databases'

There you will find a listing of the available databases.  You can put them in order by alphabet or by subject.

 

SMH Databases

 ABC-CLIO

To search across all or any combination of your ABC-CLIO databases, enter ‘Spanish Civil War' in the text box under Search All Databases, and check the databases you wish to search before clicking the search button.

Check 'World at War' and 'World History: The Modern Era'.

Under Search Results, click 'World at War' and explore those results, then click 'World History: The Modern Era' to explore those results.

Filter your Article results by choosing Events, Groups & Organizations, Ideas & Movements, Individuals, Objects & Artifacts, Other Articles, and Places

·      You can filter your Document results by Cultural Documents, Government & Court Documents, Quotes, and Speeches & Narratives.  

·      You can filter General results by Facts & Figures, Glossary Terms, or Timelines

·      And finally, you can filter your Media & Visuals results by Images or Maps.

The persistent link is:

http://worldatwar.abc-clio.com/Search/Results?q=spanish%20civil%20war&setcustomercontext=8767

 

EBSCO Host

Go to Student Research Center – Search all 6-12 Databases

Enter “Spanish Civil War” (with quotation marks) in the text box next to Find:

Under ‘Include when searching’ check Books & Encyclopedias, Biographies, Primary Source Documents, Photos, Maps & Flags, and Film & Video

Then press Search

You may then filter your results by Books & Encyclopedias, Biographies, etc.

The persistent link is:

http://web.ebscohost.com/src/results?hid=108&sid=8f07840b-9204-46e3-9bc0-10422c529610%40sessionmgr110&vid=2&bquery=(%22spanish+civil+war%22)&bdata=JmNsaTA9RlQmY2x2MD1ZJnR5cGU9MCZzaXRlPXNyYy1saXZlJnNjb3BlPXNpdGU%3d

 

Encyclopedia Britannica

Choose High School View this level

Enter “Spanish Civil War” (with quotation marks) in the text box under Search and press Go

The persistent link is:

http://school.eb.com/eb/search?query=%22spanish+civil+war%22&ct=&x=33&y=13

 

History Online

This will take you to the Facts On File databases

Choose the database ‘Modern World History Online’

Type “Spanish Civil War” (with quotation marks) into the Search box

You may filter your results by Biographies, Events & Topics, Primary Sources, Images & Videos, and Maps & Charts

 

Life Photo Archive Through the Decades

Enter ‘Spanish Civil War’ in the text box under Search LIFE images

At the top of the results page, you may do Related searches: spanish civil war franco spanish civil war guernica spanish civil war picasso spanish civil war painting spanish civil war propaganda

 

 

Books in the SMH Catalog

  • Cover ArtThe Spanish Civil War - Thomas, Hugh  Edit/Delete
    Call Number: REF 946.081 THO
  • Cover ArtLorca: a dream of life - Leslie Stainton  Edit/Delete
    Call Number: BIO Lorca
    ISBN: 0374527024
    A biography of Spanish poet Federico Garcia Lorca, drawing from interviews, letters, and archival material to provide information about his childhood in rural Andalusia, his relationships with other Spanish artists, and his political involvement in the Spanish Civil War.


 

SMH Databases Cont.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip